Starbursting Star Wars Stromtrooper

I will openly admit I have never watched a Star Wars movie in full (and now I have just lost half my followers, haven’t I?). It’s not like I’ve intentionally not watched them, I just didn’t watch a lot of movies growing up, much to the distaste of my fiancé. Disney movies were the only exception. Even though I haven’t seen a Star Wars movie, I still think this is pretty awesome and I am totally proud of myself.

This project seriously improved my crochet skills. With over 200 of the same granny square pattern to create my mega blanket, really gave me time to practice and perfect my skills. Practice does make perfect. Maybe not exactly perfect, there are a few mishaps but that’s what I love about handmade products – the slight imperfections.

Months and months ago I stumbled upon this great photo and knew it was going to be my first granny square blanket. Unfortunately, I cannot find the link or the photo to credit the person. My extreme apologies if you happen to come across my post. I was so excited to start. From the picture I counted the squares, reproduced it onto graph paper and found a granny square pattern that I like from Creative Jewish Mom. (see bottom for written pattern).

Stromtrooper reproduced onto graph paper

Stromtrooper reproduced onto graph paper

I believe the starburst pattern quickly became imprinted in my sub-conscience. There were moments I suddenly be surprised i had completed a square. The life of a yarn addict.

If I remember correctly, I think it took me a solid two months to complete from my first square to weaving in the ends. My life was consumed with Black, White and Grey yarn. My apartment littered with the scraps of yarn.

The end result is pretty spectacular, if I do say so myself.

Finished Stromtrooper Granny Blanket! Thats a Queen Size bed.

Finished Stromtrooper Granny Blanket! Thats a Queen Size bed.

I have had a few people ask me if they could buy it off me but I have made it for the special man in my life, so it’s not for sale.

If you would like one please feel free to email me and I can help you with any questions. Obviously due to copy right reasons I can’t sell the product or pattern for this item.

Granny Square Pattern

Simple Fillet Crochet Star burst Square Pattern:

By: Creative Jewish Mom

American Crochet Terminology (as opposed to British terminology, which is quite different!)

Chain 4, join with slip stitch

Rnd 1: All stitches are worked into center of loop. Ch 3, 2 DC, Ch 3, 3 DC, Ch 3, 3 DC, Ch3, 3 DC Ch3 and join to top of first Ch3 with a slip stitch.

Rnd 2: Ch3, skip the next dc and dc in the last dc of the group from rnd 1. In the corner space: 2DC, Ch3, 2DC. DC in the next DC, skip one DC and DC in next DC. Repeat around and join with slip stitch to first Ch3 of round.

Rnd 3: Ch3, DC in next 3 DC. In the corner space: 2DC, Ch3, 2DC. DC in the next 3DC, Ch1, DC in the next 3 DC. In the corner space: 2DC, Ch3, 2DC. Repeat around and join with slip stitch to first Ch3 of round.

Round 4: Ch3, DC in next 5DC. In the corner space: 2DC, Ch3, 2DC. DC in the next 5DC, Ch1, DC in the next 5 DC. In the corner space: 2DC, Ch3, 2DC. Repeat around and join with slip stitch to first Ch3 of round.

Round 5: Ch3, DC in next 7DC. In the corner space: 2DC, Ch3, 2DC. DC in the next 7DC, Ch1, DC in the next 7 DC. In the corner space: 2DC, Ch3, 2DC. Repeat around and join with slip stitch to first Ch3 of round.

Round 6: Ch3, DC in next 9DC. In the corner space: 2DC, Ch3, 2DC. DC in the next 9DC, Ch1, DC in the next 9DC. In the corner space: 2DC, Ch3, 2DC. Repeat around and join with slip stitch to first Ch3 of round, cut yarn and pull end through loop on hook. Weave in the end with a yarn needle

Note: It may seem strange to a seasoned crocheter to only crochet a Ch3 at the beginning of each round (to mimic a double crochet and a ch1), I found that if I crocheted a Ch4, the resulting hole created was too big. Now this could be a result of my yarn choice and crocheting style, so try both yourself if the initial Ch3 results in a hole that’s too small.

9 thoughts on “Starbursting Star Wars Stromtrooper

  1. Hi! After I left you the comment at the other place I found this so I can figure out how many squares of each color 🙂 Do you have any idea how much of each yard it takes either in oz. or in engliish measurement is fine. I love this afghan and my fiancé is going to LOVE it too! I’m going to surprise him with it for Christmas. Thank you for sharing the pattern! I appreciate it SO much!
    Sheri

    • No worries! I’m not exactly sure how much wool I used as I was doing it in parts. From a 100g ball I usually got about 11 squares so that would be 9 black, 10 white and 2 grey. It’s the size of a queen size bed. I think 70 inches by 80 inches as each squares is 5inches by 5inches. If you would like it smaller just limit the amount of rounds.

      • wool? yeah I’ll be .using Red Heart yarn which is acrylic or I’ll find 100% cotton. I can buy it in pound skeins. this says its 681 meters. and it cost about $5 so its very reasonable. I have a son and his wife, 4 soon to be step daughters, a grand daughter, my mom and dad, my fiancé’s parents to make stuff for by Christmas. I started in May and I’m still not sure I’ll get done besides being able to afford the yarn for all those people! What are you working on currently? if you want to reply privately my email is sherbear5373@gmail.com
        sheri

      • Sorry I used acrylic. I bought the cheapest wool I could find. $1.98 from the local chain store. It’s tough and once I washed it, it softened up. I was in the same boat last year. Ill email you some great/cheap christmas stuff I made for last year when I get home from work 🙂

Leave a Reply

